Warning: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable in /var/www/html/ctic_joomla/libraries/cms/application/cms.php on line 471

Caribbean and Adjacent Regions

Notice: Undefined variable: exAction in /var/www/html/ctic_joomla/templates/cepon/html/com_content/article/default.php on line 61

Community Performance Based Tsunami Recognition Programme for the Caribbean and Adjacent Regions (Tsunami Ready)

Most recently, St. Kitts and Nevis received country-wide Tsunami Ready recognition in 2016.  The programme is also currently being implemented in the communities of St. Patrick, Grenada; Forte Liberte, Haiti; and Omoa, Honduras. The Intergovernmental Coordination Group of the Tsunami and Other Coastal Hazards Warning System for the Caribbean and Adjacent Regions (ICG/CARIBE EWS) Member States of Antigua and Barbuda, Barbados, Dominican Republic, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, and Trinidad and Tobago have all indicated an interest in nominating communities for recognition under the Programme.  UNESCO/IOC, the Caribbean Tsunami Information Centre (CTIC) and the US NOAA NWS Caribbean Tsunami Warning Program (CTWP) are continuously seeking opportunities for the recognition of additional communities throughout Member States based on the implementation of the ICG/CARIBE EWS Tsunami Ready Programme Guidelines.  It is necessary for recognised coastal communities to meet all requirements within the guidelines. 

TRIB image2

Assembly point signage at 04 August, 2017 Evacuation Exercise Omoa, Honduras.

Key requirements for nominated communities are:

  2. Designated and mapped tsunami hazard zones
  3. Public display of tsunami information and response that identifies for example: (1) tsunami danger area and/or hazard zone (entering and leaving signs), evacuation routes, and assembly area; and (2) provides tsunami response education (go to high ground)
  5. Produce easily understood tsunami evacuation maps as determined to be appropriate by local authorities
  6. Development and distribution of outreach and public education materials
  7. Covene at least three outreach or education activities annually
  8. Conduct an annual tsunami community exercise
  10. Address tsunami hazards in the community’s emergency operations plan (EOP)
  11. Commit to supporting the emergency operations center (EOC) during tsunami incidents if an EOC is opened and activated
  12. Redundant and reliable means for a 24-hour warning point (and EOC if activated) to receive official tsunami threats
  13. Redundant and reliable means for 24-hour warning point and/or EOC to disseminate official tsunami alerts to the public.

In June 2011, the US NWS NOAA provided initial funding to support the joint NWS and UNESCO/IOC TsunamiReady® pilot project recognition as an initial rollout for the Caribbean and the international community.  In the Caribbean, this joint initiative was implemented by CTWP; in coordination with UNESCO/IOC.  These efforts led to the recognition of Anguilla in 2011 and the Virgin Islands (UK) [British Virgin Islands] in 2014.

By 2015, the ICG/CARIBE EWS’s recommendation for the approval of the Community Performance Based Tsunami Recognition Programme (Tsunami Ready Programme) as a pilot programme for the Caribbean and adjacent regions, and its corresponding guidelines were ratified by the 2015 IOC General Assembly.  At the ICG/CARIBE-EWS-XXII in May 2017, it was recommended that the Task Team on Tsunami Ready should facilitate the continued piloting in the Caribbean.  The UNESCO/IOC ICG/CARIBE EWS-led programme is not copyrighted, and is differentiated from the US NOAA NWS program by virtue of name and some minor modifications in the guidelines.  Support to the ICG/CARIBE EWS Tsunami Ready Programme has been led by UNESCO/IOC, CTIC and CTWP in coordination with regional partner organisations including the Caribbean Disaster Emergency Management agency (CDEMA), the Coordination Center for the Prevention of Natural Disasters in Central America (CEPREDENAC), the Puerto Rico Seismic Network (PRSN), the Seismic Research Centre of the University of the West Indies, St. Augustine (SRC) and the United States Agency for International Development/Office of Foreign Disaster Assistance (USAID/OFDA).

Since June 20, 2001, the NOAA NWS has been implementing the recognition program, TsunamiReady® in United States jurisdictions.  Under this program, the Caribbean US jurisdictions of Puerto Rico (almost fifty [50] communities have been recognised) and US Virgin Islands (all three [3] of its’ island communities were also recognised in 2014) have been recognised.



Latest News

10th ICG/CARIBE EWS Meeting Opens on Tuesday by UNESCO and Government Officials

10th ICG/CARIBE EWS Meeting Op…

GREAT BAY, Sint Maarten (DCOMM) – For the next three days starting on Tuesday, 19th of May until 21st of May, Sint Maarten is hosting the 10th Session...

Find Us on Facebook

Most Read

Tsunami Ready in Brief

Tsunami Ready in Brief

27 Apr 2018 Articles



23 Oct 2017 Articles


31 Aug 2016 Resources

Partner Links

31 Aug 2016 Resources

Publications & Reports

31 Aug 2016 Resources